Light The World, Good Attitude and Holiday Pictures (Week 17).

(This is the last post that was lagging behind to be up to date… -Doug)

Hello form California!

First of all I would like to wish everyone I very happy Thanksgiving holiday this week! I am so thankful for my family (mom, dad, Daniel, Ryan, Emma, Christa, Logan, the whole Arkansas Crew, Texas side and my grandpa in South Carolina)! I know I wouldn’t be on a mission today if it wasn’t for their continued love and support in the gospel. Thank you guys for everything!

This week we got the chance to have our Christmas Initiative Training for the upcoming season! We have 3 zones come together to learn about how we can #LightTheWorld. This Christmas message focuses on things that Christ did during his Earthly ministry and what we can do to emulate His perfect example! Attributes like love, charity, patience, and hope should describe every action we do. Mormon.org will have 25 ways of how we can be more Christ like for the 25 days leading up to Christmas starting on December 1st!

I had the opportunity to give a discussion in this week’s district meeting about the power of a good attitude. This is something I am personally always trying to work on because without a good attitude the work we do is practically for nothing… Through have the right attitude to a situation we can have the ability to learn the things that God has for us, help others overcome their own challenges, and make it possible for ourselves to become more sanctified!

This week has been a one of reflection and prayer. I recently have identified some short comings in relationships with others and felt a weight of guilt and inadequacy come upon me one night. As I arose the next morning, I went back to my notes on having a good attitude and found 2 Nephi 2:2 that states…

“…thou knowest the greatness of God; and he shall consecrate thine afflictions for thy gain.”

As a missionary, I KNOW the greatness of God because I see His loving hand in everything that we do on His behalf. He guides us to those in need. He always answers our prayers. He has given us the way to return to Him in the life to come. God is not only good, but great. He knows what is good for us and what we need to learn at certain points in life. Those afflictions you might be going through at this very moment ARE for your gain! What a blessing that knowledge is for us! We can truly have joy in our life and especially in hard times.

I have a testimony of Jesus Christ’s everlasting Atonement and how that lasting sacrifice allows us to be forgiven and healed from all the bad in life. He loves us so much and we have so much to be thankful for because of Him! He is always there! I am honored to represent Him in the Westlake Village area at this time of the year where people are a little more open to Christ’s love.

Thank you for all the prayers and support!

Till next week.

Pictures!

1- Elder Allen and I taking a Christmas card photo in front of the Muir’s fireplace. Even though it is still in the 50’s here at night people believe its needed to have fires and coats on.

2- Elder Whatcott and me on exchanges! We hung some lights for members and they returned the favor with a huge breakfast!

3- Picture by the coast from this week!

4- A miracle of a text from a nonmember that has a baptismal date now!! Its always a great day to receive the gospel!

Elder Austin Morgan

week17-1 week17-2

Leave a Reply

